The Farm’s tofu dip: an old spring recipe revisited

When I got married I had my mother in law make a batch of this amazing tofu dip and pack it up for me with cucumber slices. I knew I wasn’t going to get to eat much of the mouth watering Allen and Son barbecue as we made the rounds, talking to our loved ones.

No, we aren’t even close to vegetarian, but this is my favorite dip. It has become lunch many times as I chase wild children and can’t stop to make food, and it keeps forever in the fridge (several weeks, you’ll see why). When I made my most recent batch we were all recovering from months of nasty colds and I realized it’s also a tremendous immune boosting food, when made with the fresh ingredients listed below.

I had her write the recipe down for me and she told me it was from her old The Farm cookbook. This has become a family favorite in the springtime when the snap peas are in full swing. This version is more nourishing and less sweet; I’ll explain the substitutions as I go. It’s just about the easiest thing I make.

IMG_9697

even delicious with the sliced cucumbers your toddler spits back out–see above

What You Need

  • One pack of firm tofu, which is about 2 cups (I get a sprouted organic tofu that is still only a few bucks at the HoFo)
  • One smallish onion or half of a big one (I found some long forgotten perennial bunching onions in an overgrown corner of the garden and used one of those!)
  • As much garlic as you like (the original recipe called for 2 tsp garlic powder but I use 3 big fresh cloves)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4-1/2 cup olive oil (love me some Costco EVOO…and I usually end up using closer to a cup but start with less to get the consistency as you like it)
  • 2 tsp soy sauce (I use more like 2 table spoons)
  • 1/4 cup vinegar (the original recipe calls for white vinegar, who knows why. I use spring tonic when I’m lucky enough to have some of what my mama makes me each winter in good cider vinegar, but plain cider vinegar is also delicious)
  • A handful of fresh herbs. This isn’t in the original recipe and it’s fine plain, but I like to toss in a handful of something–basil, thyme and oregano, whatever is growing in the yard. It makes a pretty green color and spices it up a bit.
  • The original recipe calls for a pack of stevia, which I leave out because I am a savory kind of gal.

What You Do

  • Put the liquidiest and mushiest ingredients in the blender first and just dump it all in. Blend until it’s smooth. I break the tofu into chunks but if you have a good blender it really doesn’t matter.

If my toddler leaves any snap peas for the rest of us, they are perfect for dipping.

Happy spring!

Leave a Reply

